Jack Higgins stuns with controversial AFL goal in Tigers’ win over Magpies

Related Story: Tigers flex their AFL premiership muscle in victory over Magpies

It is the AFL goal of the year contender that probably should not have been.

Richmond young gun Jack Higgins added to his growing legend with an effort on the goal line that was as controversial as it was outrageous.

With Collingwood defender Darcy Moore hot on his tail, Higgins ran across the line in the third quarter of the Tigers' 28-point victory at the MCG.

Higgins managed to keep the ball from going over for a behind, but he had to step around the back of a goalpost.

So he threw the ball up in the air and then kicked it over his head in one action.

Moore rightly appealed for a throw, but to no avail.

After a video review to see if Moore had touched the ball before it went through, the goal was allowed to stand.

Jack Higgins and Dylan Grimes lead the Tigers off the MCG.

Higgins said he had "no idea" how he pulled off the goal but he admitted he took inspiration from Australian cricketer Glenn Maxwell.

"I thought of like a cricket catch, over the boundary line and putting it back in," he told 3AW.

"So that's what I thought in the moment, pretty weird, like a Glenn Maxwell sort of thing."

Richmond coach Damien Hardwick admired Higgins' ingenuity.

"I'm going to steal (Richmond chief executive) Brendon Gale's line here — they don't teach that in VCE," Hardwick said.

"We're sitting here trying to figure it out … it was quite funny to watch the reaction of the Collingwood players.

"They're not sure whether … they (the umpires) are checking if it's a throw or a behind.

"We were a little bit puzzled ourselves … it was a spectacular goal."

Collingwood coach Nathan Buckley wondered aloud about the adjudication when asked about Higgins' feat.

"I don't know the rule — is it a throw?" he said.

"Can you follow that up for me? It was clever."

AFL supporters were divided on social media as to whether Higgins' goal should have stood or being disallowed.

External Link: @realkvp tweets: Final word on the Jack Higgins goal – hand to foot is NOT a throw. Im shocked to see people are divided on this. External Link: @PuttyMcK tweets: Any reason why that goal from Jack Higgins wasn't deemed throwing the ball before he kicked it? Incorrect disposal?


Original Article

Leave a Reply