Related Story: Meet Bert Van Marwijk: The Dutch pragmatist taking Australia to the world Related Story: Arzani and Karacic the bolters, Cahill in Socceroos' preliminary WC squad

Socceroos coach Bert van Marwijk has cut Australia's World Cup squad from 32 to 26, with in-form striker Jamie Maclaren among those to miss out.

The reduced squad will travel to Turkey for a pre-tournament training camp before a friendly international against the Czech Republic in Austria on June 1.

Former Perth Glory and Brisbane Roar forward Maclaren is on loan from SV Darmstadt to Hibernian in the Scottish Premier League.

External Link: Socceroos tweet: Our 26-man squad for our @FIFAWorldCup pre-tournament training camp in Turkey has been finalised. #GoSocceroos

He has hit form at Hibs, scoring eight goals in 15 games including a hat-trick on the weekend in a 5-5 draw with Rangers, but it was not enough to keep him in the squad.

The others to miss out were Alex Gersbach, Apostolos Giannou, Mitch Langerak, Aleksandar Susnjar and Bailey Wright.

Veterans Tim Cahill and Mark Milligan remain in the squad and are still on track for their fourth World Cup finals, while five current A-League players including 19-year-old Daniel Arzani are still in the running for Russia.

"It is always a challenging task to reduce a squad, however this is the nature of professional sport at the highest level," van Marwijk said in a statement.

"Overall, I believe we have named a strong and ambitious squad for our training camp in Turkey and friendly against Czech Republic in Austria.

"I am sure that in training in Antalya, and in our match against the Czech Republic, we will see players pushing to go to a higher level as they compete for a place in the final squad," he said.

The squad will need to be cut again to 23 by June 4 to finalise the group that will go to Russia.

Squad: Daniel Arzani, Aziz Behich, Josh Brillante, Tim Cahill, Milos Degenek, Jackson Irvine, Mile Jedinak, Brad Jones (Gk), Tomi Juric, Matthew Jurman, Fran Karacic, Robbie Kruse, Mathew Leckie, Massimo Luongo, James Meredith, Mark Milligan, Aaron Mooy, Andrew Nabbout, Dimitri Petratos, Josh Risdon, Tom Rogic, Nikita Rukavytsya, Mathew Ryan (Gk), Trent Sainsbury, James Troisi, Daniel Vukovic (Gk).

Original Article


ABC .net


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *