Mal Meninga names Greg Inglis as new Kangaroos skipper

Greg Inglis is the new Australian rugby league team captain and he will lead a new-look team in Tests against New Zealand and Tonga in Auckland this month.

Inglis has been named by coach Mal Meninga to succeed long-time skipper Cameron Smith and he will lead a 19-man squad missing no fewer than nine members of last year's World Cup-winning team.

The squad also includes four debutants in full-back James Tedesco, centre Latrell Mitchell, hooker Damien Cook and utility Tyrone Peachey.

Newly-crowned NRL premiers Sydney Roosters have three players in the squad — Tedesco, who takes over the number one jersey from the retired Billy Slater, Mitchell, who ousts Will Chambers, and skipper Boyd Cordner.

Cook is set to take over at hooker after Smith's representative retirement.

External Link: South Sydney Rabbitohs tweet: Introducing the new Australian Kangaroos' Captain Greg Inglis and their latest addition, Damien Cook! Well done boys! #GoRabbitohs

Missing from the World Cup-final winning 17 are Slater, Dane Gagai, Chambers, Josh Dugan, Michael Morgan, Cooper Cronk, Smith, Matt Gillett and Wade Graham.

"This is a new era for the Kangaroos and it is a very exciting one, based on the talent available," Meninga said.

"There is certainly a strong showing from the NSW squad which won the State of Origin series and we have a number of players who performed exceptionally well through the finals series as well as in the grand final.

"While there are only two Test matches for the Kangaroos this year they are extremely important to me and this squad.

"This will give us a good gauge of who we will be looking at to lead the Kangaroos into the future.

"The Kangaroos have not played the Kiwis in New Zealand for four years, and have not played in Auckland for six years, so the October 13 Test match will be an extremely important one for us.

"The first Test match ever against Tonga will also be a historic occasion not only for the Kangaroos but for the game as well."

Kangaroos squad: Reagan Campbell-Gillard, Daly Cherry-Evans, Damien Cook, Boyd Cordner, Tyson Frizell, Valentine Holmes, Ben Hunt, Greg Inglis (capt), Felise Kaufusi, David Klemmer, Josh McGuire, Jordan McLean, Latrell Mitchell, Cameron Munster, Tyrone Peachey, James Tedesco, Jake Trbojevic, Tom Trbojevic, Aaron Woods.

Jillaroos squad also named

Sam Bremner will captain a Jillaroos squad with six newcomers for the women's rugby league Test against New Zealand in Auckland on October 13.

Poised to debut in the 18-player squad named by coach Brad Donald are Keeley Davis, Tazmin Gray, Julia Robinson, Jess Stergis, Hannah Southwell and Holli Wheeler.

Twelve players remain from the outfit that beat New Zealand when they last met in last year's women's World Cup final.

Brisbane, the unbeaten winners of the inaugural NRLW competition, have six players in the squad, with St George Ilawarra boasting seven and Sydney Roosters (three).

Jillaroos squad: Kezie Apps, Chelsea Baker, Heather Ballinger, Annette Brander, Brittany Breayley, Samantha Bremner (capt), Ali Brigginshaw, Keeley Davis, Tazmin Gray, Steph Hancock, Isabelle Kelly, Julia Robinson, Jess Sergis, Hannah Southwell, Simaima Taufa, Zahara Temara, Eliana Walton, Holli Wheeler.


Original Article


ABC .net


Related Posts